Living in Dubai, you don’t really get to hear many distinct sounds from the third floor of my building except for the occasional ambulance passing on the main road or the occasional baby crying in the next door. All you can usually hear outside is the quiet, which I have to admit, sometimes is a bit eerie when you are alone.

Till today morning I didn’t feel like I had left Dubai, travelled for three hours in a flight and reached Mumbai. Even the damp and huge drops of rain were not able to convey to my brain that I was away from what it considered to be its home.
What convinced me that I was in a different place, were the sounds that I heard while reading outside the balcony.

The sound of a passing auto rickshaw, the rustling of leaves, the rain pattering noisily on the roof, the soft splashing of the water on the roads when a car drives on it, birds chirping, and the most irritating but nevertheless a change from the Dubai environment, dogs barking in the middle of the night.

So do I feel at home yet? I really don’t know. Do I want to know? Not really. Not now.

Now,  I just want to live in the present and stop worrying about the future.

image
The Balcony 🙂
