I finally got my hands on John Green’s an Abundance Of Katherines after three months. It wasn’t as good as I had expected it to be. I was looking for more but this book turned out to be a slight disappointment. 

From the back of the book:

Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart 
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.

My review:

After books like Looking for Alaska, The Fault in Our Stars and Paper towns, I was expecting something much more adventurous and adrenaline pumping. But all I got from this book was a Love story with not much of anything else except for the usual things you find in a love story. 

Like I said, it was a total disappointment. In one of my previous posts, I mentioned it to be the best 21 pages ever and was looking forward to reading the whole book. The summary does seem interesting. Nineteen girls of the same name. (How do you even come across so many of them?) It was quite predictable and according to me, there was not point of the story. Colin Singleton is a washed up child prodigy trying to make a mark in this world because he wants to matter. We all do want to matter. So you think that you can relate to Colin. But unfortunately, Colin is not a very likable character because he is extremely whiny and self centered. His friend Hassan is alright, however I don’t really get attached to any of them. The moment Lindsey Lee Wells entered the scene, I knew that she would be Colin’s girlfriend(She already is the girlfriend of another Colin). There were slightly funny parts and no emotional parts at all. The footnotes are very interesting and scientific, and I enjoyed them thoroughly. Out of the nineteen Katherines Colin has dated, three of them seem to be the same Katherine. There were very few places that would get your heart beat rate increased and that scene included a poorly shot bullet, hornets(not bees), a wild pig and a forest(you know the whole scene by now). I was fascinated by how much Colin knew and the small conversation in Arabic with Hassan made me feel embarassed that I could not understand what they were speaking even though I’ve learnt Arabic for Ten Years. 😛 In the book, Colin has been dumped by a girl called Katherine for the nineteenth time. He really loved her and thought that she was ‘the one’ so he was heart broken by their break up. He thus tries to come up with a formula to predict the curve of any relationship. When he finally comes up with a formula, he finally meets his girl, and after that he concludes that ‘The future is unpredictable’. A bit obvious, really. 

This is the first time I did not like John Green’s characters and I never call characters I love by using the authors name. I hung on till the end of the book, hoping that the end would be brilliant and unpredictable. But for the first time in my life, I was let down by John Green. I guess all the books written by an author cannot be equally exciting or wonderful. And I think I’ve learned that you must not expect anything from anyone. But John Green is still my favourite Young Adult author, and even if he comes up with twenty disappointments, I’ll still like him because of his personality (on YouTube) and the books of his which are fantastic. 

My favourite quotes:

You can love someone but you can never love people as much as you miss them

Books are the ultimate dumpees; Put them down theyll wait for you forever, give them attention and theyll love you forever. 

