Paper Towns

My first review. I thought I should write a review of something I absolutely loved reading. So, my first review had to wait. I bought the book one month back, and read it within three days, only because my exams were going on. As with any excellent book, I couldn’t put it down. Oh, John Green you have managed to make me your fan just by reading two books written by you.

From the back of the Cover: Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life–dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge–he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues–and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

Quentin Jacobsen is a very likable character and I could relate to him. The whole book was from his point of view, and I believe that John Green could not portray Quentin Jacobsen in any other way. He is perfect. The book starts perfectly, with a prologue that creates enough suspense to keep you reading the start of the book, which isn’t especially exciting. After Margo Roth Speigelman takes Q on a crazy adventure ride, the book just keeps getting better. I absolutely loved the way Margo talked about paper towns and how she felt that everyone was made of paper. After Margo runs away from home and leaves a trail of clues behind her, Q realizes that the real Margo wasn’t the same Margo he always knew. The clues in the book are wonderfully placed. My favourite part of the book was the road trip to ‘Paper Towns’ which was eventful and exciting. The clues in the book are wonderfully placed. The ending is tragic, but that was expected from John Green.

All in all, I LOVED the book and I can read it for another two hundred to three hundred times more. Minimum.

Quotes I loved:

1:“What a treacherous thing to believe that a person is more than a person.” 

2:“The last time I was this scared, I peed myself.”
“The last time I was this scared,” Radar says, “I actually had to face a Dark Lord in order to make the world safe for wizards.” 

3:“It is so hard to leave-until you leave.” 

As usual, the quotes from this book are extremely relatable. This has to be one of my favourite books ever. And loving this book has made me explore more about John Green and I discovered yet another Potterhead.

John Green is officially my favourite author ever, after J.K. Rowling.

images          paper_towns_by_the_sentimentalist-d3jyjxl

