Everyone who knows me, knows that I am an ardent fan of the Harry Potter Series and my ultimate dream is to meet the characters. By characters, I mean the ones in the book, not the actors. I don’t mind meeting them either, but I would prefer the former.

With the number of characters involved in the series, it is nearly impossible to choose a favourite character. I love Luna Lovegood, Fred and George Weasley, Severus Snape, Sirius Black, Albus Dumbledore the most from the series, because, removing any one of them from the series, would be like murdering the series.

Luna Lovegood- She taught me that being weird is wonderful. Being different is nice sometimes. She did believe in a lot of things, from the thought that the Fudge had an army of Heliopaths to many other bizarre things like wrackspurts and crumple horned snorkacks which made her seem more crazier than she looked. Despite the fact that she was ridiculed because of the way she was, she did nothing to change herself. That is what I like the most about her. Luna Lovegood should be taken as an example for everyone.

Fred and George Weasley- I don’t believe there could be nicer twin brothers in the whole world. They never fought with each other and always found ways to cheer up everyone around them. They were very optimistic and down to earth people, making them my favourites in the Weasley family. Whenever I read a Harry Potter book, I always find myself serching for the twins’ parts. Also, the first time I ever cried for a character in a book was for Fred Weasley’s death. Yes, I may have been really really sad when Dumbledore died, but I sure did not shed a tear for it. I think I felt more traumatized thinking about the fact that what poor George was going to do. So Fred and George Weasley will be my favourite twin brothers forever.

Sirius Black- Though he did not appear much in the books (Prisoner of Azkaban-Goblet of Fire-Order of the Phoenix-Deathly Hallows) Β or in the movies(Prisoner of Azkaban-Order of the Phoenix-Deathly Hallows), I still love the way he was. His rash behaviour charmed me the most. The way he and Harry interacted was beautiful. It was great to know that for a while, even if it was for a very little while, Harry had a true guardian. Someone like a parent who could advise him and be with him. His death might have affected Harry the most, maybe even more than Dumbledore.

Severus Snape– The saviour. I do not want to say much about him because once I start, I don’t think I will be able to stop. According to me, J.K. Rowling did hint that he was important throughout the whole series by dedicating a chapter to Severus Snape (In Philosopher’s stone- The Potions Master). According to me, he is one of the best characters ever created in the world. Is there a need to say more?

Albus Dumbledore– The greatest headmaster any school could have. He was extremely devoted to his job and cared for each and every student in this school, whether they were from Gryffindor or from Slytherin. He and Harry shared a very special bond, one which very few teachers have with students. He was more than just a teacher or headmaster to Harry. Undoubtedly, he was the wisest person in the whole series. The best part about him was that he was not fully perfect. He did have flaws, which made him a better person. When he exposes the worst of him in the last book, no one is disgusted. Maybe it was because of his greatness that this happens. The reason I love Dumbledore the most is because he is imperfect while being extremely great.

Image

Dear J.K. Rowling,

If you ever happen to stumble by this post accidentally, I would like to thank you for making me meet the greatest people in the world and for the lessons I have learnt from each of them.

